Register FAQ Upgrade Membership Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Go Back   Vulcan Bagger Forums > Technical :: Maintenance :: Performance > Vulcan Nomad/Vaquero/Voyager

Old 07-11-2008, 09:15 PM   #1

My name is Cadd and I'm a moto-holic...

Yes, my name is Cadd and I'm a moto-holic.

How bad is it? Well people ask me sometimes why I ride "those damn things" and I took some time to think about why. The thing that became most evident was that logical reasoning had long fled any excuses I could muster.

I started riding because I wanted cheap transportation. I already had a car, but it only got 20 MPG at best & gas was a whopping 26 cents a gallon. I'd ridden bicycles a lot, and took to MC's pretty quickly. I've ridden consistently about 30 of the past 39 years, and sporadically in between. There were a few years where I didn't own a bike or my bike(s) were torn apart & I couldn't afford to fix them. There were several years that I either did not own a car at all, or my wife drove the one car we had while I rode.

The "cheap transportation" thing was misleading. I spent much less for gas and far more for everything else; but for the cost of a pretty slow car I could have a pretty fast bike. Now I ride because I've become obsessive-compulsive in my old age.

I can hardly bear to take the car unless it's pouring rain --particularly if I'm going solo. I can't stand to let anyone else work on my bike. I can't bear to have my bike torn apart for long, so maintenance chores like changing tires are done in marathon sessions without stopping to eat or wind my watch. I buy spare parts way in advance of when I'll need them so I don't have to wait. I've changed a lot of things on it, but I keep every part, screw, and washer hoarded away "just in case".