Register FAQ Upgrade Membership Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Go Back   Vulcan Bagger Forums > Technical :: Maintenance :: Performance > 1700 Nomad, Vaquero & Voyager

Old 06-18-2018, 11:06 PM   #1

front end issue

I have a 2013 Voyager (Non ABS) and have been having a issue with the front end that is kind of confusing me. I am not a mechanic so I hope someone here with more knowledge may have some answers.

When I ride into a right hand tight curve like a circling on or off ramp for example, the front end feels like the tire is low. Almost like I'm riding on light gravel or a tar snake. Going to the left or straight there is no issue.
The tires look good. I have an MC II on the rear with about 1000 miles on it and a stock dunlop on the front with about 9000 miles on it (it looks like it still has over 1000 miles life left on the tread). Both are set at 38 psi. The shocks are set on setting 3 and have 24 psi in each. the rear has been lowered with luverne's links.
I have read about the death wobble these get due to the bearings but I have only heard people talking about how they wobble on straight stretches which is not my case.

Any Ideas where to start looking for answers would be appreciated.

Login or Register to Remove Ads
Last edited by 8v06; 06-19-2018 at 06:15 AM.

Old 06-19-2018, 10:37 AM   #2

Have you jacked the bike up and checked the wheel bearings or neck bearings for play?

Also, you have a now 5 year old tire on the front, you don’t notice just how hard they get with age and how poorly they perform over time. It is likely time for a new tire.

Last edited by BonVoyager; 06-19-2018 at 10:45 AM.

Old 06-19-2018, 02:10 PM   #3

As of now I have not jacked it up to check the front. Since lowering the rear my jack no longer fits under the bike.
I was thinking of just getting a new tire to be on the safe side. I just didnt know if thats where I should start.