In Association with VBA Web : About | Staff | Members | Rally Info | Links | Accessories | Goodies | Riding Info | Videos | DYK? | In Memoriam
Go Back   Vulcan Bagger Forums > Technical :: Maintenance :: Performance > 1500 & 1600 Nomad
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-05-2013, 02:17 PM   #1
Shardy   Shardy is offline
 
Shardy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 114
Way too much oil!

Hi, all. I'm new and just bought an '08 Nomad from a "reputable" dealer. The bike has just over 15K miles and seems to be in excellent condition. The dealer says all the fluids were changed before I picked it up, but here's the rub. He overfilled the bike with more than a half a quart of oil so I'm not sure just how reputable he is. As soon as I got home I drained and refilled with Rotella T6. Other fluids do look new and clear. Is there anything else I should look for at this point?


Login or Register to Remove Ads
  Reply With Quote
www.NM4Vultus.com
Old 01-05-2013, 02:51 PM   #2
dshelly   dshelly is online now
Sr. Member
 
dshelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Belgrade, MT
Posts: 1,494
Hope you have better luck with the T6 than I did. My clutch slipped when I used it. Now I use Mobil 1 4T
__________________

Dave "(dshelly)" Shellenberger
2007 1600 Nomad (Black)
Shellenberger Machine
Belgrade, MT
VBA # 2395
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 03:37 PM   #3
VulcanE   VulcanE is offline
 
VulcanE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cartersville, Georgia
Posts: 3,351
I would check the final drive oil, and when you check/fill it, have it sitting on level ground, with the bike on it's sidestand, and have a 2X4 under the sidestand. If you fill it with the bike sitting level, the oil seals will be drowned in oil, and will start to leak.
__________________



Cliff "VulcanE" Evans
2005 Blue & Silver 1600 Nomad
VBA # 320
VROC # 20381
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 03:50 PM   #4
Jared   Jared is online now
VBA President
 
Jared's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Greeley, Colorado
Posts: 5,930
Quote:
Originally Posted by dshelly View Post
Hope you have better luck with the T6 than I did. My clutch slipped when I used it. Now I use Mobil 1 4T
Thousands of motorcycles have been running T6 in their bikes for years and this is the first time I've ever heard of it causing a clutch to slip. I've read of several lab tests done on it, and even Wikipedia recognizes it's use in motorcycles by saying "Though marketed as an engine oil for diesel trucks, Rotella oil has found popularity with motorcyclists. The lack of "friction modifiers" in Rotella means they do not interfere with wet clutch operations."

Seems odd to me that you'd have problems.
__________________
Jared
VBA #01051 (President)
Iron Butt #37970
VROC #26705

UtahMotorcyclist____JMGantPhotography
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 03:52 PM   #5
waterman   waterman is online now

SouthWest Leader
 
waterman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Colorado
Posts: 5,874
Quote:
Originally Posted by Utah Motorcyclist View Post
Thousands of motorcycles have been running T6 in their bikes for years and this is the first time I've ever heard of it causing a clutch to slip. I've read of several lab tests done on it, and even Wikipedia recognizes it's use in motorcycles by saying "Though marketed as an engine oil for diesel trucks, Rotella oil has found popularity with motorcyclists. The lack of "friction modifiers" in Rotella means they do not interfere with wet clutch operations."

Seems odd to me that you'd have problems.
Had the same thoughts.
__________________
Joel "Waterman" Schneekloth
2006 Nomad
VBA 213
VROC 16913

Custer 09: Cortez 10: Crescent City 11: Kanab 12: Estes Park 13
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 03:57 PM   #6
dshelly   dshelly is online now
Sr. Member
 
dshelly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Belgrade, MT
Posts: 1,494
All I know is my clutch didn't slip when I got the bike and as soon as I changed the oil to T6 it did. Only left it in for a couple hundread miles, then changed it to Mobil 1 4T 10W-40 and no more slip. Can Anyone explain ????
__________________

Dave "(dshelly)" Shellenberger
2007 1600 Nomad (Black)
Shellenberger Machine
Belgrade, MT
VBA # 2395
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 04:38 PM   #7
Idaho   Idaho is offline

NorthWest Region Leader
 
Idaho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Pocatello, Idaho
Posts: 4,996
Send a message via AIM to Idaho
Dave, I think it was just timing. In my opinion our clutches get a bad rap for slipping. My clutch slipped at one time when the bike was nearly new. The slip was in 5th gear when I would roll on the throttle on the interstate. I bought Judges Washers but the slip went away and I never installed the washers. I don't remember if I changed oil before the slip went away or not. I just know that it did slip at one time and now it does not and I've not done anything to the clutch and it now has about 58,000 miles on it. So, you tell me.
__________________
Idaho (aka Curmudgeon)
Blue Knights Idaho III
VBA #110
VROC #24864
IBA #49753
2007 Nomad 66,800 miles
Bud Smalley
Pocatello, Idaho

Idaho Jack Adapter
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 05:42 PM   #8
degreaser   degreaser is offline
Member
 
degreaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 220
I use Amsoil Severe Gear 75w90 synthetic in the gear box, also bought the container pump, now my gear box oil changes are less messy, with that pump I can easily control the gear oil going in. I use Rotella T5 5w40 and have no clutch slip, my bike is due for a rad fluid change and brake/clutch fluid change also. I bought the Honda Type 2 for rad fluid at the car dealership.
__________________
2004 1500 Classic
Atlantic Canada
Avatar is 2005 Gros Morne Park Newfoundland sky
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 07:09 PM   #9
danimal2   danimal2 is offline
Advanced Member
 
danimal2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Glendale, Arizona
Posts: 865
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shardy View Post
Hi, all. I'm new and just bought an '08 Nomad from a "reputable" dealer. The bike has just over 15K miles and seems to be in excellent condition. The dealer says all the fluids were changed before I picked it up, but here's the rub. He overfilled the bike with more than a half a quart of oil so I'm not sure just how reputable he is. As soon as I got home I drained and refilled with Rotella T6. Other fluids do look new and clear. Is there anything else I should look for at this point?
It's an odd deal. If you go by the book it says the bike's capacity is 3.7 quarts when changing oil and the filter. I find that's too much even with the larger capacity 3300 Bosch filter. I noticed it on my first oil change. After changing the oil and filter, I fired the bike up and let it run a bit. Shut it down and let it sit for a while to settle the oil down. After setting it up level to check it, found the oil to be clean over the top of the sight glass. I drained a bit out via the filter screen until it looked right. The first time I thought maybe I mis-measured when filling it or something and made a mental note to be more careful with the measurement. Next change it did it again and I was being real careful this time. Let a bit out again. Now I've started using 3.5 quarts and it's still a little high but much closer.

In case anybody wonders............no I wasn't using the metric scale on my measuring cup/pitcher.
__________________

VBA member #01682
Green 1999 Nomad 1500 carb'd 35,000 miles
JOG'd at 20,000, Darksider
& girlfriend's 2006 Vstar 650 Classic

Last edited by danimal2; 01-05-2013 at 08:15 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 07:15 PM   #10
Bud2rat   Bud2rat is online now
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: St. Pauls, NC
Posts: 893
I use Mobil 1 15W20 and I also used 3.5 qts.
__________________
Robert Torrey
VBA# 02077
Vroc# 27672
1996 800A Customized (SOLD)
2001 1500 Nomad
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 07:44 PM   #11
Shardy   Shardy is offline
 
Shardy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tampa, Florida
Posts: 114
Guys, thanks for the input. Gear oil is next. I ride a lot (18-20K per year) commuting to work so really need to keep up with the routine stuff.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 09:01 PM   #12
ringadingh   ringadingh is offline
 
ringadingh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Newmarket Ontario Canada
Posts: 28,825
I always put in 3.3 litres of oil during a change, this is with a new filter. If you had a newly rebuilt engine with absolutely no oil in it, a little more oil is required for that initial fillup.
__________________

2002 Nomad aka Bountyhunter
VBA #27
VROC #18951
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2013, 11:44 PM   #13
RiseLikeRa   RiseLikeRa is offline
Member
 
RiseLikeRa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Pomona, NY
Posts: 98
AMSOIL all the way for me with no adverse effects so far.
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 04:40 AM   #14
elvis   elvis is offline
Sr. Member
 
elvis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: British Columbia, Canada
Posts: 1,772
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shardy View Post
Guys, thanks for the input. Gear oil is next. I ride a lot (18-20K per year) commuting to work so really need to keep up with the routine stuff.
What follows is from the Owner's Manual (text in yellow by me):

Engine oil type:
API SE, SF or SG
API SH or SJ with JASO MA (Rotella T6 is JASO MA I've used this oil with no problems until I traded in my 2008 Nomad at 60K and my wife's Suzi uses the same oil)

Viscosity:
SAE 10W-40 (see the chart)

Capacity:
2.9 L (3.1 US qt, when filter is not removed)
3.1 L (3.3 US qt, when filter is removed)
3.5 L (3.7 US qt, when engine is completely disassembled and dry)
Level:
Between upper and lower level lines (Wait 2 ~ 3 minutes after idling or running)
Torque Engine Oil Drain Plug: 20 Nm (2.0 kgfm, 14 ftlb) (See illustration below)


Torque Oil Screen Plug: 20 Nm (2.0 kgfm, 14 ftlb) (This is the preferred oil draining point, its on the same side as the kickstand, see illustrations below)


Final Gear Case Oil: Grade API Service Classification: GL-5 hypoid gear oil this is important
Amount: 200 mL (6.76 US oz.) (Note the recommendations by other members on not overfilling).

Did you check the spark plugs? Also consider adding some Sea Foam to the gas tank to establish your own routine.

Good luck!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg LO_Viscosity.jpg (19.7 KB, 25 views)
File Type: jpg DrainPlug-300x206.jpg (15.5 KB, 26 views)
File Type: jpg OilScreenPlug-300x205.jpg (20.4 KB, 27 views)
File Type: jpg OilScreen-300x205.jpg (10.8 KB, 27 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2013, 08:03 AM   #15
degreaser   degreaser is offline
Member
 
degreaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 220
I think 3.5 qts. is too much, for oil change and new filter I put in 3.3 qts (3.1 liters)
__________________
2004 1500 Classic
Atlantic Canada
Avatar is 2005 Gros Morne Park Newfoundland sky


  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

In Association with VBA Web Join VBA Now!

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.