Register FAQ Upgrade Membership Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Go Back   Vulcan Bagger Forums > Technical :: Maintenance :: Performance > Vulcan Nomad/Vaquero/Voyager

Old 02-02-2011, 01:00 PM   #1

GPS discussion for a near Luddite

Yes, I'm a near Luddite I don't really like depending on "technology". I also understand the irony of that seeing that I am posting with the use of my computer. I'm chock full of contradictions

I plan on longer, more frequent road trips. I'm aware of the additional conviences of a GPS device.

I'm comfortable with paper maps. Main problem that I have with that is that I now require reading glasses.

I have limited experience with GPS devices. I had exposure to them in the Army, and I was given a Tom Tom a year ago. I didn't care for that. It appears to me that using a GPS device for navigation is surrendering your "control".

So as far as requirements: It must have a large screen. It must be fairly simple to operate. I don't care for the female voice nagging at me to turn here and there etc. It must be compatible with my Nomad and motorcycle riding in all weather. It would be nice if it didn't cost an arm and a leg, yet I'm aware of the old "you get what you pay for".

So I'm open to all recommendations. I'm also looking for ideas on how to mount it and wire it to the bike.
86 Kawasaki 454 LTD
VBA member #1578
HOG Member #4541840
AMA Member # 2700186

Login or Register to Remove Ads

Old 02-02-2011, 01:55 PM   #2
Advanced Member

Same with me, was considering rigging something up with my auto TomTom. Question I have, is it possible to 'input' certain road trips into a GPS so your GPS follows the route you 'input' without the GPS doing it's own thing? Can this be done into my TomTom, I think the model is called a TomTom One, 3rd Generation.