Register FAQ Upgrade Membership Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Go Back   Vulcan Bagger Forums > Technical :: Maintenance :: Performance > 1500 & 1600 Nomad

Old 07-08-2009, 12:08 PM   #1

Installing new tail lights & rear turn signals

I could sure use some advise here. Against the advise of some others on this forum, I purchased the large VIP trunk. Mounting the trunk on the luggage rack isn't a problem, but not being an electrician, I'm a little nervous about wiring up the new tail light and turn signals. The trunk arrived with everything I needed, except instructions. So I'm looking for some wiring guidance.

If any of you could provide this novice with some advise / instruction, this Nomad rider would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks to all of you who respond.

Login or Register to Remove Ads

Old 07-08-2009, 12:40 PM   #2
Mega-Contributor

Quote:
Originally Posted by ronhaus
I could sure use some advise here. Against the advise of some others on this forum, I purchased the large VIP trunk. Mounting the trunk on the luggage rack isn't a problem, but not being an electrician, I'm a little nervous about wiring up the new tail light and turn signals. The trunk arrived with everything I needed, except instructions. So I'm looking for some wiring guidance.

If any of you could provide this novice with some advise / instruction, this Nomad rider would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks to all of you who respond.
You are going to want to tap into the taillight wiring harness. The easiest place to do this is beneath the seat. If you remove the front seat you will see an insulated bundle of wires coming through the fender. Follow it into the battery area and you will see that it ends with a connector where it plugs into the chassis main harness.