Register FAQ Upgrade Membership Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Go Back   Vulcan Bagger Forums > Technical :: Maintenance :: Performance > 1500 & 1600 Nomad

Old 10-06-2020, 09:00 AM   #1

Question What's the deal?

Newbie here,
’07 VN1600 Classic.
Had this happen to me a few times now over the last 6 months & I’m not sure why exactly:
Downshifting from 4th to 2nd & sometimes the engine will just die (clutch in & no throttle).
Normally I let off on the clutch and let the engine slow me down, but sometimes I don’t have the opportunity.
I find myself having to keep giving it a little gas (roll a hair, let off, roll a hair, let off…) just to insure it doesn’t die.
Idles great other than this at 950 – never dies while stopped.
Bought it serviced (new battery, plugs) – 12k miles.
This can’t be normal? (not good to have the engine die in traffic slowing down for a quick turn while downshifting).

Again, I’m learning & I may not be handling the bike correctly.

Login or Register to Remove Ads

Old 10-06-2020, 09:56 AM   #2
Top Contributor

Have you tried cleaning the throttle body with a toothbrush and carb cleaner ?

Old 10-06-2020, 10:01 AM   #3

Nope. Add an oz of Lucas gas treatment about every other tank tho (previous owner did as well).
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Lucas Flex Fuel Additive 2.jpg (118.0 KB, 9 views)

Last edited by ostringer; 10-06-2020 at 10:06 AM.

Old 10-06-2020, 10:12 AM   #4
Top Contributor

Try it.

Old 10-06-2020, 10:32 AM   #5

I'm no mechanic. I'm pretty sure the throttle body's never been removed. Looks like a lot of parts connected - could try if it will fix what sounds like a common issue. Is there some sort of written step-by-step procedure somewhere I can look at?

Login or Register to Remove Ads

Old 10-06-2020, 11:09 AM   #6