Register FAQ Upgrade Membership Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Go Back   Vulcan Bagger Forums > Technical :: Maintenance :: Performance > 1500 & 1600 Nomad

Old 10-16-2012, 04:15 PM   #1

Troubleshooting Help! Bike runs like sh#t!!

2003 Nomad, chucksters single air intake K&N filter with tunnel removed, coaster plates with meddesa removed, Vance &Hines dual baggers and TFI.

I have been battling mechanical problems for about 2 months now and getting frustrated. It all started with suddenly getting bad gas mileage in town. Reset TFI and was running fine. Then I started having issues with bike not wanting to stay running randomly at first start up. Sometimes It would start right up and after a few minute warm up, when I would take off it would cut out, sputter and barely run. Other times it ran fine. My first thought was battery since it was getting old. I had it checked and it was bad. Installed new battery from battery mart. I still had issues with it running. My next thought was possibly bad gas since there was a recall on some gas that was delivered in my area. I drained that gas and put in fresh with some sea foam in it a couple of weeks ago and it seemed to run fine. Today is the first time I had a chance to ride it since then and the same thing. It started fine. Idled fine while warming up for about 3-4 minutes then when I took off it started cutting out, sputtering and backfiring through the throttle body. I got it pulled over to the side of the road and it died a couple of more times. I got it to stay running after about 5 minutes and once it warmed up completely (it was about 65 degrees out) it seemed to run fine. I then rode for about 30 miles and it was fine.

Obviously I'm not the most knowledgable when it comes to mechanics and I am merely guessing, but I like to try and figure things out before I completely give in and take it to a mechanic. Any suggestions on what I can check and how before I give up would be appreciated.