Register FAQ Upgrade Membership Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Go Back   Vulcan Bagger Forums > General > Off-Topic

Old 04-19-2009, 05:49 PM   #1
Advanced Member

Finally drove a big rig

Just started a new job delivering plants for a huge nursery here in the Virginia Beach area. I’ve been driving Class B trucks since December 2006, and nothing else since 1998 when I drove military trucks at Fort Devens, MA. Friday I arrived for work for my second day of training and there sat an International with a sleeper and a 60 foot reefer trailer and the regular driver was sitting in the passenger seat. Hmm, that meant that I was going to drive right off the bat. Okay, I can do this. I also hadn’t had much experience with the 10-speed transmission with the hi-lo toggle switch. Most of my driving had been with regular transmissions. Anyway, I almost stalled it, forgetting to release the airbrakes and away we go. The tractors I had driven in the military were either 5-ton or the air-assist transmission of the M915 or M916 and even then my time on those trucks was very limited. That country-western song, “Give Me 40 Acres” (to turn this rig around) came to mind as I negotiated my way out of the nursery complex and out to the main road. I got onto I64 heading toward I664 and across the Monitor-Merrimack Bridge Tunnel back to I64 heading west. Going in a straight line I was fine, but my shifting was somewhat rough. I turned off at the weigh-station and got back onto the highway and turned north on I295/95 up to I495. We headed for our first stop at a Costco in Leesburg. Driving on the secondary highway was a bit of a challenge with all the traffic lights and shifting. At our first stop I checked in at the delivery entrance and backed up to a loading door. I had thought that backing would be a problem for me, but that was much easier than I thought it would be. Shifting and making turns without clipping curbs and signs was the biggest challenge. Deliveries consisted of ro