Register FAQ Upgrade Membership Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Go Back   Vulcan Bagger Forums > Technical :: Maintenance :: Performance > Vulcan Nomad/Vaquero/Voyager

Old 02-24-2014, 06:30 PM   #1

Wiring Light Bar for Hi & Lo Beam ?

Hi, newbie here with a question:

I just got a Kawa Light Bar for my 2011 Nomad and want to wire it so that:

1.) I can run it on either Lo and Hi beam, and
2.) power cuts out when the starter engages (like the regular headlight does).

My problem is finding the appropriate headlight wire before it comes out of the Hi/Lo handlebar switch, so that I can make this work. Any one know which wire it is (color code) and where I can conveniently splice in a switch wire to it (for a relay)?

Any other ideas how to get this done?

Thanks
-Jack

PS Is there a wiring color-chart I can download?

Login or Register to Remove Ads

Old 02-24-2014, 07:26 PM   #2

There should be 2 wire connectors in the headlight bucket, one black with gold tracer, and I think the other is white with red tracer. The black/gold is ground, and the other is always hot. Also in the headlight bucket is the connections for the front running and turn lights. Use a meter or circuit tester (looks like an ice pick with a light in the handle) to see which wire is a running light, pick one either left or right, and use it to trigger your relay, and use the always hot wire to go thru the relay and power the lights. and you can ground them to one of the bolts that mount the headlight bucket to the forks. I would strongly suggest also running a ground wire from the forks to the fram where you won't be using your steering bearings as a ground path, it'll pit the races and wear out the steering bearings.

Cliff "VulcanE" Evans
2005 Blue & Silver 1600 Nomad
VBA # 320
VROC # 20381

Last edited by VulcanE; 02-24-2014 at 07:29 PM.

Old 02-24-2014, 07:51 PM   #3