Register FAQ Upgrade Membership Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Go Back   Vulcan Bagger Forums > Technical :: Maintenance :: Performance > Vulcan Nomad/Vaquero/Voyager

Old 05-07-2015, 02:26 PM   #1

Vaquero/Voyager Stereo Amp and Speaker Upgrade and Impressions of the Results

After getting my 2011 Vaquero a few weeks ago, I felt the factory stereo setup was pretty good. But after a few weeks it left me wanting more… More clarity, overall sound range and volume when riding in a 3/4 helmet. So I ended up purchasing an amp as well as new speakers. During high school and through college I worked as a car alarm and stereo install guy and I had kept most of my tools over the last 20 years as well as keeping a stock of other items I would use so the project was pretty simple, but it took more time than expected.

You'll see the amp and the speakers I used in the photos below. I decided to stick with the 5.25" size speakers (some people are experimenting with 6.5” speakers that requires significant modifications) and used Polk Audio (DB521) as well as a Clarion amp (XC1410). Both are marine grade items so getting wet is not an issue. Install of the speakers is pretty straight forward as they drop right into the existing speaker enclosures and done (more on tuning the enclosure later). They fit fine but you’ll need to change the connectors on the wires to tighten them up some so they don’t fall off while cruising down the road.

Link to the Clarion XC1410
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Link to the Polk Audio DB521
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1

IMG_2243 by Jason Holland, on Flickr<script async src="//widgets.flickr.com/embedr/embedr.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

IMG_2244 by Jason Holland, on Flickr<script async src="//widgets.flickr.com/embedr/embedr.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

IMG_2245 by Jason Holland, on Flickr<script async src="//widgets.flickr.com/embedr/embedr.js" charset="utf-8"></script>