Register FAQ Upgrade Membership Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Go Back   Vulcan Bagger Forums > Technical :: Maintenance :: Performance > Vulcan Nomad/Vaquero/Voyager

Old 03-21-2008, 06:00 PM   #1

Dealer or do-it-yourself?

Do you take your bike to a dealer for service, or an independant shop? A friend? Or do you do it yourself?

This is my 7th bike since I started riding in 1969. Not one of them has ever seen the inside of a shop since I bought them. I've done every bit of work myself including tires, though I only did one engine overhaul in all that time.

I bought my Nomad new in 2003, and that was the last time it saw the dealer's floor. Needless to say, I did not buy the extended warranty, and even did repairs that should have been under the original warranty myself. (Well, maybe. Will the dealer fix leaky coolant hoses and water pump gaskets under warranty? That's about the only stuff that went wrong in the first 2 years.)

I'm strictly a hobbiest myself. I did work a bit in some professional auto shops back when I was going to school and I worked for a couple years as a Teamster, operating and maintaining construction equipment. I re-built a few engines, did some brake jobs, mounted some tires, lube jobs and such, but no long-time pro experience.

OTOH, I've been a hobbiest since Dad took me out in the garage at the age of 6. I do not trust other people to work on my bike, and I'm anal about it too. I'd have to be desperate, out on the road somewhere, to even let someone else change a tire on my bike.

Soooo...

Is anyone else here afflicted with this disease? ???

Login or Register to Remove Ads

Old 03-21-2008, 06:18 PM   #2