Register FAQ Upgrade Membership Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Go Back   Vulcan Bagger Forums > Regional Groups > Regional Groups > NorthCentral Group

Old 04-28-2010, 09:58 PM   #1

octane rating?

i'm an auto tech, since 1987, octane ratings do not seem to make much of a difference on cars , but will it hurt to use 89 or 92 octane instead of 95 as manual shows?

Login or Register to Remove Ads

Old 04-29-2010, 10:02 AM   #2

octane rating?

this was a long conversation last summer. Generally I try to use the highest octane fuel I can get without buying premium or ethanol. Ethanol is NOT recommended for our machines. You really should be able to run regular. Run the lowest octane you can without getting any pinging or preignition. The octane rating should not become an issue for you unless you have mods or until temps get really hot outside. I have a fuel processor so I have adjusted mine so that I can run regular. I installed it because of my intake modifications.

Old 04-29-2010, 05:46 PM   #3

octane rating?

Hey Gordy... Welcome aboard...

Regarding octane... this has been a long and ongoing conversation as you can imagine.

OP has given you a good answer; although I am not sure about the Ethanol statement. OP could be right on that; however, where I live... you couldn't avoid it half the time and my bike ran just fine on it -- except on hotter days -- then it just didn't seem to matter what you used.

I would continue to use what the manufacturer recommends (higher octane) until you have completed your research and are comfortable in going against what is recommended -- because, let's face it... any damage you do is out of YOUR pocket ;)

However, you could look on the other boards such as the Nomad Garage here on KawaNOW's main page; and ask to bring this conversation up again. You'll get more exposure to your question on that board rather than here on your region's board.