Register FAQ Upgrade Membership Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Go Back   Vulcan Bagger Forums > Technical :: Maintenance :: Performance > 1500 & 1600 Nomad

Old 06-03-2014, 05:08 PM   #1

Starter issue continued....

Figured I would post this quick video since I can't describe the sound. I checked the battery connections and relay. All good. Is this the starter going out? Switch seems to be good. I am trying to get freed up for a long ride this weekend by not is this thing is gonna leave me stranded.

David Hollinger
2002 Beige 1500 "Hannah2"
VBA # 02195

Login or Register to Remove Ads

Old 06-03-2014, 06:02 PM   #2
Top Contributor

I am by no means an electrician but icould it be a bad ground ?

Old 06-03-2014, 06:08 PM   #3
Sr. Contributor

Quote:
Originally Posted by davidhollinger View Post
Figured I would post this quick video since I can't describe the sound. I checked the battery connections and relay. All good. Is this the starter going out? Switch seems to be good. I am trying to get freed up for a long ride this weekend by not is this thing is gonna leave me stranded.

That sound to me is like dry and beat up starter motor bearings. I would dis connect the battery ground at the battery and pull the starter and open it up. With the starter just off the bike grab the shaft and see if it flops around some It shouldn't really. The bolts holding it on need to be clean the surface where the bolt come out of the motor and the engine case where these surfaces are on the motor and case need to be clean too because this is starter ground (starter case to engine case)

Also it is probably time to get new starter graphite brushes. Usually these are generic and most any auto store worth 2 cent will have these in a selection case in the shop somewhere. Of course since it is Ma Kawi they could be special.

I am 99% sure you will find bad bearings, perhaps other damage from it.

06 1600 Nomad
Just call me Mac
molon labe come and get it