In Association with VBA Web : History | Leadership | Memorial | Events | Merchandise
Go Back   Vulcan Bagger Forums > Technical :: Maintenance :: Performance > 1700 Nomad, Vaquero & Voyager
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 06-17-2017, 11:10 AM   #1
Lenwoj   Lenwoj is offline
Jr. Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 11
Nomad 1700 MPG Gauge

I have a 2014 Nomad 1700 and accidentally reset the MPG gauge. Now it's reading 80+ MPG (!!). I've let it go for a while but it doesn't seem to come down to an expected range. Am I missing something? I am sure it is not that accurate in the 1st place but it was kinda interesting to check every once in a while.


Login or Register to Remove Ads
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2017, 03:15 PM   #2
Spondulas   Spondulas is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Dickson, Tennessee
Posts: 66
Per my owner manual ...

Using the controls on the right handlebar, push the “MODE-A” switch for more than two seconds while the average mileage is displayed, and the average mileage is reset.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2017, 08:10 PM   #3
Lenwoj   Lenwoj is offline
Jr. Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 11
Yes, that's what I did but the MPG always shows 80 something. It's been that way for a couple hundred miles. I figure it should be averaging out by now. Any other thoughts?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2017, 09:41 PM   #4
Snake Ranch   Snake Ranch is offline
Member
 
Snake Ranch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Stockton, Ca.
Posts: 488
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lenwoj View Post
Yes, that's what I did but the MPG always shows 80 something. It's been that way for a couple hundred miles. I figure it should be averaging out by now. Any other thoughts?
Pray you're getting 80mpg.
__________________
Too much fun Is never enough.

You make a living by what you get,
You make a life by what you give.

The measure of a man can be summed up by
how he treats people who are the least significant to him.
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 09:03 AM   #5
Lenwoj   Lenwoj is offline
Jr. Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snake Ranch View Post
Pray you're getting 80mpg.
Ha ha! Yes!
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 12:38 PM   #6
Shawn   Shawn is offline
Jr. Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Georgis
Posts: 17
Any chance you switched to KPG ?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 01:08 PM   #7
JD Hog   JD Hog is online now
 
JD Hog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Placerville, CA
Posts: 2,067
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shawn View Post
Any chance you switched to KPG ?
That's possible as it would be 49.68 mpg and that is good mileage.
__________________
Jim Diebolt
2015 Vulcan 1700 Voyager ABS
The Black Kaw

2005 Vulcan Nomad Sold
2006 Honda 1800 VTX (Freebie) Sold
2008 Harley Ultra Classic Sold
2001 Harley Ultra Classic Sold

Hangtown, California

Most Unique City In The World

Ariel Views Of Main Street

Retired Now, Let's Ride!



VBA #2625
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 04:32 PM   #8
Lenwoj   Lenwoj is offline
Jr. Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 11
mpg USA...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_2239.jpg (88.2 KB, 39 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 07:55 PM   #9
Ozymandias   Ozymandias is offline
Jr. Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 16
Silly thought, but I wonder if possibly something shorted out in the 7-segment display for that digit and is leaving all segments "lit".
__________________
1975 Goldwing(found a good home for it)
2003 Nomad (traded)
2010 Voyager
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 09:05 PM   #10
rozie   rozie is offline
Member
 
rozie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 64
if you disconnect the negative battery terminal, wait a few seconds and reconnect the cable, it should reset the trip ometer and mpg display.
__________________
2015 vulcan vaquero ABS SE
mettalic carbon grey
12in. windshield
grasshopper driver backrest
oem aux lights
ram mount for gps
cobra slipons
tank bra
saddle bag chaps
kuryakin longhorn cruise pedals
black isso grips







VBA#03256
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2017, 10:55 PM   #11
Kawalski Rider   Kawalski Rider is offline
 
Kawalski Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Auburn, Washington
Posts: 286
Quote:
Originally Posted by rozie View Post
if you disconnect the negative battery terminal, wait a few seconds and reconnect the cable, it should reset the trip ometer and mpg display.
I wondered if disconnecting the power, ie disconnect the battery wouldn't reset it. That's what happens on my Nomad when you disconnect the speedo module from the bike. It resets everything but the odometer, which is probably on a prom somewhere, or part of the ECU.

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
__________________
Cheers, David Baughan
aka: Kawalski Rider
VBA #03514

2002 Vulcan VN1500L Nomad fi
Pearl Burnish Beige/Pearl Luster Beige


  Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 09:25 AM   #12
Lenwoj   Lenwoj is offline
Jr. Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ozymandias View Post
Silly thought, but I wonder if possibly something shorted out in the 7-segment display for that digit and is leaving all segments "lit".
Good one, but it looks like the segment works properly in other modes...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_2241.jpg (86.9 KB, 8 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2017, 09:27 AM   #13
Lenwoj   Lenwoj is offline
Jr. Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by rozie View Post
if you disconnect the negative battery terminal, wait a few seconds and reconnect the cable, it should reset the trip ometer and mpg display.
I disconnected the battery and will see how it looks after a ride planned for tomorrow.

Thanks all for the great tips!
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2017, 08:31 AM   #14
Lenwoj   Lenwoj is offline
Jr. Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 11
Disconnecting the battery didn't help. Still read 92 MPG after 45 miles...

I did reset the MPG gauge & trip meters after filling the tank. Once I started moving the MPG showed 24! Thought I figured this out but the MPG kept rising on my 5 mile trip home. It was up to 60 something by the time I got home. Seems like it's not calculating correctly or picking up bad info from a sensor or something. Anyone know how it calculates MPG & where it gets the info to make the calculation?
  Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2017, 06:45 AM   #15
Snake Ranch   Snake Ranch is offline
Member
 
Snake Ranch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Stockton, Ca.
Posts: 488
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lenwoj View Post
Disconnecting the battery didn't help. Still read 92 MPG after 45 miles...

I did reset the MPG gauge & trip meters after filling the tank. Once I started moving the MPG showed 24! Thought I figured this out but the MPG kept rising on my 5 mile trip home. It was up to 60 something by the time I got home. Seems like it's not calculating correctly or picking up bad info from a sensor or something. Anyone know how it calculates MPG & where it gets the info to make the calculation?
Have you done any work around the throttle plates. There are some vacuum lines in that area. And I believe this part of the system works with engine speed, and gear selection.

SO throttle position, vacuum, engine rpm and transmission gear selection may all play a part in this equation.

Might be time to get manual out for more information rather than shooting in the dark.
__________________
Too much fun Is never enough.

You make a living by what you get,
You make a life by what you give.

The measure of a man can be summed up by
how he treats people who are the least significant to him.


  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

In Association with VBA Web Join VBA Now!

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.