Register FAQ Upgrade Membership Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Go Back   Vulcan Bagger Forums > Regional Groups > Regional Groups > Canada East Group

Old 02-23-2011, 08:29 AM   #1

Extended Warranty

My dealer is trying to convince me that I should take out the Extended Warranty on my 2010 Nomad. They have a deal where by if I do it before March 21 I get a $200 in store credit.

I never take extended warranties (electronics, appliances or cars) and wasn't going to now.

I would really welcome any comments regarding this subject and your recommendations. I am new to Kawasaki don't know the experience with warranty claims on Kawi's.

Thanks

KawaNOW #01650
Bell City Riders #21
SCRC 329
2010 Nomad (The Beast)

Previous Bikes
2008 - 900 Vulcan Classic
1958 HD HydraGlide

Login or Register to Remove Ads

Old 02-23-2011, 09:11 AM   #2
Mega-Contributor

Extended Warranty

Pro: The warranty could easily pay for itself with one repair.
Con: You may never need it.

My thoughts: It's a gamble. Personally I don't buy them either. I don't have one on my Nomad. I am capable of doing my own work, though - not everyone is. Ymmv.
VBA #00105
H.O.G. #4250060

2011 H-D Ultra Limited 103ci

:: 2011 HD Electra Glide Ultra Limited w/Stage 1 ::

Rallies: Mesquite '08|Custer '09|Cortez '10|Crescent City '11|Kanab '12|Antlers '12|Estes Park '13|Antlers '13|Orofino '14|The Dalles '17

Old 02-23-2011, 09:32 AM   #3

Extended Warranty

I don't buy them either, but like Scott said, its a gamble.
I can do most of my own work so it doesn't matter to me as much. And chances are that if nothing has gone wrong the first few months, it probably won't. Nomads are pretty good bikes for the most part, my bike had an extended warranty when I bought it used, it was three years old at the time and never required any warranty work at all.

2002 Nomad aka Bountyhunter
VBA #27
VROC #18951

Old 02-23-2011, 09:41 AM   #4

Extended Warranty

Quote:
Originally Posted by cactusjack