Register FAQ Upgrade Membership Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Go Back   Vulcan Bagger Forums > Technical :: Maintenance :: Performance > Vulcan Nomad/Vaquero/Voyager

Old 01-28-2011, 12:00 PM   #1

Review: Sema SMH10 Bluetooth Intercom

As some of you may have read in another thread of mine, the Scala Rider Q2 Bluetooth intercom system that Ann & I have been using for the last two years finally gave out. Specifically, the battery in one of the units would not stay powered on for longer than 30 minutes to an hour at most. That, coupled with intermittent connectivity issues, and we finally bit the bullet on replacing our Scala Rider Q2 Multi-set units with a different model.

After researching different models available on webbikeworld's Intercom Review site, I decided on the Sena SMH10 Dual Motorcycle Bluetooth Headset & Intercom. This is a package of two complete bike-to-bike communication setups - one for each rider, or rider and passenger.

Why Sena? Although the Sena SMH10 and the Scala Rider systems both have non-replaceable batteries, I was reluctant to go with another Scala system after the problems we had with intercom connectivity. I've read both professional and user reviews all over the web, and the SMH10's consistently gets excellent marks for connection reliability compared to the new Scala G4 and other next-generation Bluetooth intercom systems. There are other reasons I chose the SMH10 as well, which I'll get to below.

The SMH10 is an 3rd-Generation motorcycle communications system compared to the Scala Rider Q2's, which are Second-Generation. After reading over all the documentation on what exactly that means, it basically boils down to a few things:

- Improved multi-pair Bluetooth connectivity (3-4 units)
- Increased battery life on a single charge
- Bluetooth 2.1 (A2DP/Stereo over Bluetooth)
- Increased range - up to 1/2 mile
- Music playback control (play/skip/back/volume)