Register FAQ Upgrade Membership Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Go Back   Vulcan Bagger Forums > Technical :: Maintenance :: Performance > 1700 Nomad, Vaquero & Voyager

Old 04-08-2012, 09:57 PM   #1

Tsk, tsk sound from rear wheel?

I am new to belt drives so I am not sure if this is a regular sound or not. I know my belt is too tight and will be correcting that once I get the tension tool, but I am not sure if this is a factor of that or not. I can hear a slight tsk, tsk sound coming from the rear wheel, kind of like when you rub two pieces of paper together. I only hear at speeds lower than 50 and lower rpms, probably because the wind noise but I hear it on both sides. I hope you all understand what I am meaning here. Thanks!

Also I remember reading somewhere on here, but of course I can't find it now but is the belt supposed to be in a certain place on the rear gear? By that I mean is it supposed to be centered, to the left or to the right on the gear? Thanks again!

2012 Nomad 1700
VBA #02021
VROC #34848

Login or Register to Remove Ads

Old 04-08-2012, 10:05 PM   #2
Top Contributor

Centered is where it it supposed to be if the wheel alignment is correct. Is there something stuck in the belt making the noise ?

Old 04-08-2012, 10:26 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by dewey405 View Post
I am new to belt drives so I am not sure if this is a regular sound or not. I know my belt is too tight and will be correcting that once I get the tension tool, but I am not sure if this is a factor of that or not. I can hear a slight tsk, tsk sound coming from the rear wheel, kind of like when you rub two pieces of paper together. I only hear at speeds lower than 50 and lower rpms, probably because the wind noise but I hear it on both sides. I hope you all understand what I am meaning here. Thanks!