Register FAQ Upgrade Membership Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Go Back   Vulcan Bagger Forums > Technical :: Maintenance :: Performance > 1500 & 1600 Nomad

Old 10-19-2020, 09:45 PM   #1

1500fi with a random stumble

I'm new to these Kawasaki's, but love everything about my 01 Nomad. Everything except a random stumble or miss. It happens sporadically and at any speed or rpm. It also affects start up, almost like a timing issue would. So I replaced the pickup coils, the ignition coils, the plugs, and it has a new battery. A self check of the ECU shows no error codes.
I would really appreciate any help.

Login or Register to Remove Ads

Old 10-20-2020, 06:51 AM   #2

I had the same problem with mine a few years ago, it was a loose coil wire under the gas tank. I squeezed the connector with pliers and it fixed the problem for me.
Also check the wiring harness at the rear cylinder on the left side of the bike, just below the tank, sometimes it can wear the wiring there.

2002 Nomad aka Bountyhunter
VBA #27
VROC #18951

Old 10-20-2020, 06:52 AM   #3

The first thing I would do is get some carb cleaner and a tooth brush and clean the throttle body and both sides of the butterfly. Clean them real good until they look like new.
VBA #01084

"A well regulated militia being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the People to keep and bear arms shall not be infringed.
"

Old 10-20-2020, 05:00 PM   #4

For anyone new to these bikes, since most folks just ride the hell outta theirs, before they sell them or trade them in....its best to do a good, basic maintenance tuneup. Thats the fluids, filters, look at your hoses good, and yes, clean the throttlebody as RB suggested. Look things over good as ringadingh suggested also.
Treat you newly acquired ride just like a new bike thats right as its maint. checkup.....
Me, myself, the first thing I do is oil and filter change, change all the fluids, filters, and I also install iridium plugs....