Register FAQ Upgrade Membership Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Go Back   Vulcan Bagger Forums > Riding > Motorcycle Safety/Riding Techniques

Old 03-04-2008, 08:24 AM   #1

MC Safety - A Different Perspective for Some

I tend to agree with this guy. I'm guessing that Dan L. does too.

http://ridingsafely.com/ridingsafely1.html

Login or Register to Remove Ads

Old 03-04-2008, 11:06 AM   #2

Thats a good article with a lot of good facts stated. When I ride my bike I notice I am much more alert of my surroundings, whereas when Im in my fullsize 4x4 p/u truck I don't worry as much because I feel safer if anything should ever happen, unless you meet up with a train or a semi.

2002 Nomad aka Bountyhunter
VBA #27
VROC #18951

Old 03-04-2008, 09:15 PM   #3

I'm quite certain that I am a better cage driver as are result of my riding. Just sort of get used to anticipating everything that might happen. My earlier driving record was not so good but not so much as a really close call in 45K mi of bike riding.

Old 03-05-2008, 08:42 AM   #4

I agree with the article. I give traffic safety lectures to military and civilian organizations in our area. One of the things I emphasize is that people tend to take driving as a routine task and they perform it without giving it much thought. This is obvious by the number of things drivers do in their vehicle BESIDES DRIVING. Some call it "multi-tasking." I call it "crash-tasking."

Here is a thought to ponder; If you were driving in a country where the vehicles were driven on the opposite sides of the roadway and the signs were similar but slightly different, you would need to be very attentive to the task of driving or you'd be in BIG TROUBLE. I think that most motorcyclists ride at that level of attention. (Of course some do ride without any regard to their safety or the safety of others but that is not the masses.)