In Association with VBA Web : History | Leadership | Memorial | Events | Merchandise
Go Back   Vulcan Bagger Forums > Technical :: Maintenance :: Performance > 1500 & 1600 Nomad
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-11-2017, 11:18 AM   #1
roadhawg   roadhawg is offline
Advanced Member
 
roadhawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Starke Florida
Posts: 786
Waving Installing Lightbar

would like to hear from anyone that has installed aftermarket light bar.
is it difficult to install? splice wires, or plug in?
thanks for any help/advice!
__________________
"Ride it like you stole it"!

2008 1600 Nomad 56K miles "BlueBelle"

2004 1500 Nomad 102 K miles "Black Beauty"

ABATE Black Creek Chapter

Amvet Rider Post 86
http://www.facebook.com/AmvetPost86

Weston A. Price Foundation member.

Vegetarian......
An old Indian word meaning "Bad Hunter"

Legalize Freedom!
Question Authority!

"Im in love with the waitress, and I dont even know her name"
"Boys" Gone Wild" ! Mainstreet Station 2012 Daytona Bikeweek


Login or Register to Remove Ads
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2017, 12:00 PM   #2
mr500   mr500 is offline
Member
 
mr500's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Auburn Al
Posts: 137
I put one on few years back. Cobra brand. Was not hard at all. Adjusting the dman thing was the hard part for me lol.


I highly recommend using a relay. I came off the hot from my headlight for the trigger so the LB would come on with my headlights. Worked great. You can get relays anywhere. I just bought 6 of them W/ a wired connector off ebay for cheap. I don't need 6 but I have them when I need them lol


Relays are your friend!!!!!!!
__________________
2007 1600
VBA #02943
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2017, 12:54 PM   #3
BudMan   BudMan is offline
VBA President
 
BudMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Greenwood, Ark.
Posts: 4,349
As already mentioned you should definitely use a relay.
If you want it to come on with the head light than use that to trigger it.

Power source connects to 30
Ground to 85
Trigger to 86
Load to 87

I attached a picture of a relay in case you need it.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg drivinglight_wiring_diagram.jpg (10.0 KB, 23 views)
__________________

Dave Jesse

2006 1600 Green/Silver Nomad
2012 1700 Gray/Black Voyager
VBA #1108

2010- Eureka Springs - Antlers - 2011- Maggie Valley - Antlers
2012- Margaritaville Ride - Van Buren - Antlers - 2013- Estes Park - Antlers
2014- Mountain View - Antlers - 2015- Eureka Springs - Antlers
2016- Salem - Antlers - 2017- Eureka Springs - Lake George - Antlers
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2017, 11:21 PM   #4
hammer   hammer is offline
Sr. Member
 
hammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,278
I totally agree the relay is the way to go. I prefer to trigger the relay from the running light wire. It also comes on with ignition but if you lose your headlight power for any reason, you still have the driving lights. Good choice for me as recently I have been having intermittent headlight out problems. (Probably related to stator/rectifier issues.)

I also intercepted the power wire at the light bar and ran it to a simple switch on the handlebar. That way I can run without them if I need to. Mine are higher wattage and I don't need the extra power drain if I am in traffic. If I stick with this bike I will likely go to LED in the driving lights too.
__________________

Hammer aka CrocHammer
KawaNow#00988, VROC#26389, VR#2202
Abbotsford, BC, Canada
2006 Black Nomad
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 10:19 AM   #5
MAS Tequila   MAS Tequila is offline
National Leader: USA
 
MAS Tequila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Psychiatric Ward FL
Posts: 2,947
Get Chuckster's lights, they install using 2 of the windshield bracket bolts on each side.

They arrive with the relay and everything needed to install them correctly.

The instructions are easy to follow.

And they're priced right.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_2888.JPG (35.2 KB, 14 views)
__________________
MT
2003 1500/1600 Nomad
2003 1500 MeanStreak
Psychiatric Ward FL


If you want to get to heaven
You gotta raise a little Hell

VBA 936

Last edited by MAS Tequila; 08-12-2017 at 10:21 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 10:23 AM   #6
ldhthept   ldhthept is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Tallahassee FL
Posts: 522
Chucksters lights also easier to adjust once installed.
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2017, 10:59 AM   #7
VulcanE   VulcanE is offline
 
VulcanE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cartersville, Georgia
Posts: 4,670
Like everyone else said, use a relay. Mine is the Cobra brand, and it wasn't hard to install, but after a few times of removing it (I have to, to remove my fairing), I made longer wires to it so I could just remove the 2 mounting bolts under the triple tree, and rotate it forward and lay it on my front fender with a towel to protect the fender.
__________________



Cliff "VulcanE" Evans
2005 Blue & Silver 1600 Nomad
VBA # 320
VROC # 20381
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 05:56 PM   #8
radco   radco is offline
Sr. Member
 
radco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Dedham Maine
Posts: 4,002
I also use a relay on mine! I wired it to shut off when the high beam comes on ! In some states that is the law!I use my old broken Honda light bar I also mounted my spots on my crash bars with P clamps and that give a nice triangle light pattern
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2017, 07:48 PM   #9
ray2   ray2 is offline
 
ray2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 921
Have the Kaw brand light bar. Had to reuse the rubber gromets from the stock turn signals on the new light bar and plug the wires into the aux plugins in the head light housing. they are only on when using low beam. Do not know if 1600 have aux hook up in head light.
__________________

Ray
Minnesota
2010-1700-Nomad
VBA#01525


  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

In Association with VBA Web Join VBA Now!

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.