Register FAQ Upgrade Membership Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Go Back   Vulcan Bagger Forums > Riding > Motorcycle Safety/Riding Techniques

Old 12-11-2007, 12:45 PM   #1

"Had to lay it down"???

Boy Dan,
I am a MSF rider coach and could not have said that nearly as well as what you just did. I agree 100000%. Laying it down is never an option unless, as Dan said, you're trying to save your head.
For those of you that have never taken ANY kind of bike riding instruction ( professional) laying the bike down is never presented as an option. I'm no math wiz but I can see Dan's point perfectly, a bike sliding down the rode on it's side will go further than one under control and using the brakes correctly. Those of you that have taken a riding course Im sure were taught how to use those brakes to the max. The only way you stay good at those things you learned are to practice them and occassionally take the course again. I encourage folks to sign up for the intermediate course to start off the season. Great time to brush the rust off and it'sjust one day.
Dan, very well said.

Flight Doc, I hope you don't mind me putting this at the end of your post, I don't know of any other way to get it to the top.

In a period of frustration, I deleted my original posts. In case anyone in the future reads this thread I'd like to paraphrase what I said.

A motorcycle stops the best/fastest when both tires are on the ground and maximum braking is used.

For illustrative purposes picture a nomad laying on its side on a low flat trailer. Now picture a good rider following alongside, both vehicles going 70mph, and at a certain signal, the Nomad on the trailer gets tossed out onto the road. As it slides down the road you do a maximum brake at the same time.