Register FAQ Upgrade Membership Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Go Back   Vulcan Bagger Forums > Technical :: Maintenance :: Performance > Vulcan Nomad/Vaquero/Voyager

Old 08-10-2010, 01:11 PM   #1

Belt Drive.....?

More and more bikes are using it..
Personally I have no experience with it.
Anyone here able to shine some light upon that?
What are the differences compared with the old ways?
Should one stick with them,or accept the future?
What I mean to say is every drive has its own character..right?
So..what about the belt drive.
Dead or alive?

Login or Register to Remove Ads

Old 08-10-2010, 01:23 PM   #2
Sr. Contributor

Belt Drive.....?

Alive very alive. Cheaper than chains and sprokets, cheaper than final drives and shafts when first bought, but hell on the wallet at a change time. They run quiet when set up right and scream when they are not.

The belt and cogs are pricey, but last better than chain in general. They are not real good on gravel roads, which should be obvious.

They are as good at delivering power as chains, where the shaft eats ponies.

They tend to last 45,000 miles, unless cut by stones. They are safer than chain, and if they break tend to fall off harmlessly rather than wrap around the rear sproket, or bust the engine case warped up on the primary cogs like chains do.

The hrdest part is getting everything to run in line, which is costly and if not done right creates squeels, and eat cog belt splines.

06 1600 Nomad
Just call me Mac
molon labe come and get it

Old 08-10-2010, 02:12 PM   #3

Belt Drive.....?

That's very informative Mac..thank you.
I think 45,000 miles is great..far better than a chain.
But..according to your comment fine tuning seems to be a problem.
As it is with any other drive I suppose.
Why do you know about this?
After all..you are an old fashioned Nomad 16 rider..right?
Did you actually test ride one of those belt bikes?

Old 08-10-2010, 02:17 PM   #4

Belt Drive.....?