Go Back   Vulcan Bagger Forums > Technical :: Maintenance :: Performance > 1700 Nomad, Vaquero & Voyager

Old 11-30-2017, 08:46 AM   #1

simple questions-new to Vaquero

ok, lets see. I recently bought a new 16 vaquero, and love it so far. Had a warranty claim issue i posted about on here but it finally came off back order and we are in good shape now. bike is still all stock.

Here's my question, I'm new to both the 6 speed and cruise control on this bike. I have noticed that my mileage (indicated on gauges, not actually doing the math) seems to be better in 5th gear doing 60 mph with the cruise set, then it is in 6th gear, I live in west Tennessee, and their are some hills and curves so maybe the Rpms are too low to pull up the hills and that is causing the issue?

also i have read mention in some other threads about the cruise control surging, I think that may cause some of the issues also? Is there anyway to make it better?

whats everyone else doing? does this sound about right? Thanks

Andyismarine
2016 Kawasaki Vulcan Vaquero 1700
2004 Kawasaki Vulcan Meanstreak 1600
2006 Yamaha V-star 650 Classic
VBA# 03615

Login or Register to Remove Ads

Old 11-30-2017, 11:00 AM   #2

Glad you resolved your other issue.

As for mileage difference between CC running in 5th vs. 6th. I believe you will find that in sixth gear you are the low 2k rpm range which is lugging the engine vs. 5th which is higher rpm, power range. Similar to your finding top speed will be higher in 5th than 6th. My Voyager doesn't "surge" but sounds like it is continually adding throttle then backing off. I don't use it much below 70.

Present rides
1983 Honda Shadow VT750 - Harley Killer
2005 Yamahe V-Star - Yarley
2012 Kawasaki Voyager - Weeping Angel

http://tourofhonor.com/ #97 (2019) #128 (2018) #8 (2017) #458 (2016)
IBA #50918
VBA #2296

Old 11-30-2017, 12:30 PM   #3