Register FAQ Upgrade Membership Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Go Back   Vulcan Bagger Forums > Riding > Motorcycle Safety/Riding Techniques

Old 12-12-2007, 12:22 PM   #1

Emergency braking on a bike

Braking came up on the Laying It Down thread, so I started it's own thread.

I'm not an expert at anything to do with motorcycles, I have just ridden them since I was 14 and by nature I like to figure out how to best operate mechanical machines (I used to be a heavy equipment operator).

The things that I have found about stopping a motorcycle are pretty basic and I know that we have a Motor Officer member here, so I hope he chimes in on any of my advice.

When braking hard on a motorcycle, the forks compress from weight shifting from the rear, to the front. The extra weight on the front gives more traction to the front tire, and less traction to the rear.

The result is that what ever pressure is on the rear brake, is just before lock up, now easily locks up the rear. Think sport bikes doing a stoppie, the rear tire is all the way off the ground, no braking ability on the the rear.

Now think about halfway in between our Nomads and a sport bike doing a stoppie. Somewhere half way in between we would have lost a lot of traction off the rear tire, therefore it takes a lot less to lock it up.

Of course you don't want to lock the front tire up either, but it can handle a tremendous amount of pressure when the weight has shifted forward. If you practice over and over, you can go a little harder each time on the front brake. Eventually, you will get to the point where you can hear the front tire start to make a "roaring" sound, it's not a high pitched squeal, kind of a dull roar. That is where you are at maximum safe stopping. Not too far beyond that is lock up of the front wheel.