Register FAQ Upgrade Membership Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Go Back   Vulcan Bagger Forums > Riding > Motorcycle Safety/Riding Techniques

Old 08-23-2007, 04:34 PM   #1

It's Your Head

Hi Guys and Gals,
Just sharing - it's your head-your decision.

Yesterday here fellow who rides his Valk to work everyday on his way home after work. Truck pulled out in front of him, he swerved and just barley tipped the back of the truck but went down on the pavement. I am a nurse at the hospital and my hubbie is a fireman who worked the scene. Hit his head on the pavement, had on a novelty type beanie helmet. DOA. :'( The fire dept used a firetruck to wash the blood and brain parts off the road. Several fireman on the scene who ride all said the helmet was a piece of crap.

In the ER the waiting room was full of grieving family and friends. He was 49 years old and apparently well liked in the community. To look at him laying there on the stretcher just a few abrasions unless you look at the back of his head. :(

Just sharing - like I said it's your head.
Kawanow Member #23
Hubbie-Ken '10 Metalic Black Goldwing

Login or Register to Remove Ads

Old 08-23-2007, 04:45 PM   #2
Top Contributor

It's Your Head

That's powerful Unwind2. I know sometimes I'm guilty of going lidless, but I've noticed those times are less and less. Now, even in this Texas heat, I've got my lid on.
VBA #0002
VBA VP-Global
B.A.C.A. Hoss
2005 "StrongBear" Black/Silver

Todd and BD

Old 08-23-2007, 08:22 PM   #3
Advanced Member

It's Your Head

Yeah, that is a tough thing to see and have in our memory. Our thoughts go out to the families.
Here in Fla, they repealed the helmet law. The fatality rate shot up. The anti-helmet group blame too many inexperienced riders and bad auto drivers. (I can agree somewhat ). The pro-helmet group blame ... inexperienced riders and bad car drivers!