Register FAQ Upgrade Membership Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Go Back   Vulcan Bagger Forums > Technical :: Maintenance :: Performance > Vulcan Nomad/Vaquero/Voyager

Old 08-20-2014, 11:28 AM   #1

Question Need some NOMAD knowledge!

What better place to go than to the experts!

I am thinking about buying a bike, which means I'll be buying a bike. After a few months of looking at everything, I keep coming back to the Nomad! I just really like the look.

I'd like to bounce some questions off the forum members...

1) are any years/models especially better/worse than the rest? Iow "look for..." Or "avoid...", etc.

2) anything in particular I should be wary of when looking at a used Nomad? Any "trouble spots?"

3) I'll be a fall and spring weekend warrior...won't be putting huge mileage on the bike. That said, what would be considered "high mileage" on a Nomad?
Saw a 2007 with 43k yesterday and that made me a little nervous. ??

4) since I'm new at buying bikes in general...what kind of value, if any, should be given to aftermarket parts?

I think that's it. I'm really excited, but always worried I'm gonna screw up.

Thanks for any info, and I'm looking forward to becoming a REAL member of the forum!

V/r
Darrin/RadarContact

Login or Register to Remove Ads

Old 08-20-2014, 11:38 AM   #2

Welcome aboard! The 99 Nomads are the only ones you should be careful of since they came with a plastic oil gear which was prone to breaking, most of them have been replaced with a steel gear, but check to make sure. They are overall good bikes and you can expect to change a clutch spring eventually unless its already been done. That is a cheap easy repair.

2002 Nomad aka Bountyhunter
VBA #27
VROC #18951

Old 08-20-2014, 11:48 AM   #3