Register FAQ Upgrade Membership Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Go Back   Vulcan Bagger Forums > Technical :: Maintenance :: Performance > Vulcan Nomad/Vaquero/Voyager

Old 07-01-2008, 11:59 PM   #1

Group Ride Discipline

One of the things that has been bantered around behind the scenes since the end of the Western Rally is the subject of discipline on a group ride. I'm no expert on the subject and offhand, I don't have a good resource that describes it in detail, but there are a couple things we did absolutely wrong, and several we could have done better.

One of the things I noticed was that in a group, the people leading must make a conscious effort to ride slower than they normally would alone. This is particularly so when you have a large group, or a group which has never ridden together, or a mixed group with people of different skill levels, or on different bikes, or with passengers.

There needs to be communication between the ride leader and the sweep rider so that maneuvers can be made safely, the group is not split up, and so that people are not left behind. I think that if the group is large enough, or the terrain variable enough that the leader and sweep are not in visual communication range, they should probably have either radio communication or designated intermediaries to relay signals.

My biggest personal problem on our group ride was that we never got to have lunch as a group. The original plan called for lunch at a certain location, and at some point those plans changed. I didn't find out about it until it was essentially lunch time. While missing a meal was probably a blessing to me (being somewhat overweight myself, I carry considerable "reserve capacity") for some other folks it was a real inconvenience. This was something we really needed to plan out better before the ride began.