Register FAQ Upgrade Membership Community Calendar Today's Posts Search
Go Back   Vulcan Bagger Forums > General > Off-Topic

Old 03-20-2009, 12:54 AM   #1
Advanced Member

Send a message via MSN to Blue Rebel
Career Change

Well, with my job ending in December as mentioned on an earlier thread, I'm now faced with the decision of a career change.

I have my Bachelors in Business and my MBA. I have been thinking of getting into the medical field, (sorry, but not nursing or doctor), I'm not exactly sure what to do or how to get there. I have been with my current job for almost 24 years, so I'm a bit out of it.

I have been looking seriously and researching the following areas:
Healthcare Administration
Health Information Technology
Medical Imaging
Community Health

I remember other Kawanow members are in different healthcare fields and I am hoping to gain some advise from anyone who is willing to share it.

I was told by my advisor that an MBA would be sufficient to enter any field of business, including healthcare admin., (this was several years ago), but as I have read up on these healthcare fields more and more, it looks as if an MBA may not be sufficient.

I know that medical imaging will require a degree in radiology.
Health Information Technology also will require going back to school for a degree. But Healthcare administration, I'm not sure. I have been thinking, if I get the HIT or Radiology, it could open the doors a little easier for HCA.

I have been in management for the past 15 years, so I hope this experience will help as well.

I'm also thinking of trying to visit one of the local clinics or hospitals and see if one of the CEO's could sit down with me and discuss what I would need to do as far as degree programs, experience, etc... may be required. I don't mind going back to school, but not sure what direction to take.

If anyone else has any suggestions, please feel free to jump in, I'm open to listen to all your ideas.

Thank you,