PDA

View Full Version : Nomad Lightbar Wiring

submarinerwolfe
09-19-2009, 06:47 AM
Ok, maybe its because I'm an electrician, maybe its because I'm anal, but why on earth does Kawi tell you to hook up your light bar to your headlight cct?? If you short something out, you lose all 3 lights (I know, you still have high beam, but that's UNSAT in my book). I went to the stealer to have them install my F&S lightbar (came with the bike, but they didn't know if I'd like it), and the guy behind the counter asked me if I wanted it wired to the high or low beam. I told him neither, as I wanted it hooked up to the Auxilliary cct. He said that it had to be hooked up to either the low or high beam.. I told him not to wire the bar (which got an interesting look). Well, I'll have pics up today, but last night, I ran the wires from the lights under the tank and hooked them to a relay and a switch I mounted to the right hand side cover below my "magic button" for my garage door opener. The PROPER way to do such things, is use the auxilliary cct for control (its switched) and a direct line (with dedicated fuse) from the battery as a the power cct. Hooked it all up and its pretty sweet if I do say so myself :) End of rant.

gv550
09-19-2009, 08:47 PM
I feed the lights from the fused aux circuit and control them via a relay from a handy switch.
I also control mine via a relay from the hi beam circuit, yes, 2 relays.
That way I can run the lights in the daytime with low beam, at night I turn them off and have them come on only with hi beam. Really lights up the road and ditch and they are off with low beam for oncoming traffic.

Garry

submarinerwolfe
09-20-2009, 04:40 AM
I thought about a similar thing, but in this province, cars seem to have an issue with seeing motorcycles and studies have shown that a single light is difficult for people to see, so I ride with all 3 at night..

speedbyu
09-20-2009, 09:37 AM